WSOP Tournament Of Champions Voting Closed

17th June, 2010

Voting for the WSOP $1million free roll Tournament of Champions has now closed. Poker enthusiasts were given the opportunity vote for up to 20 participants from the 521 world series of poker bracelet winners to enter a 27 man tournament which will be played from 27th June until 4th July.

"There's really never been a way to gauge what poker fans want," World Series of Poker spokesman Seth Palansky said. "We think that this format is going to be a great way to do that."

"Assuming it goes the way we expect, it is our intention for it to be an annual event," Palansky continued.

Rather unsurprisingly, Phil Ivey had the most votes with 16,267 closely followed by Canadian Daniel Negreanu with 16239 votes. Doyle Brunson, Phil Hellmuth and Chris Jesus Ferguson are also to play the tournament.

In addition to the top 20 nominees, the tournament of champions will see Annie Duke, Mike Matusow and Mike Sexton, as they are previous champions, plus Joe Cada and Barry Shulman, the current WSOP and WSOPE Main Event winners.

Bertrand Elky Grospellier won a special nine handed tournament and won a seat into the tournament of champions and the final seat will be awarded by Harrahs in an online satellite.

This isnt the first weve heard from the Tournament of Chamopions, it was an annual event between 2004 and 2006 however it had a different format to the new and improved tournament.

By Gina

digg this | Post to | Furl It | Stumble it! | Reddit | Add this post to Technorati Favorites | Save to Yahoo MyWeb | Share on Facebook